Stress Busting Sat-Nav Senses Traffic Jams

2 07 2008

Researchers from the University of Portsmouth have announced they’re working a sat-nav system which informs motorists of traffic jams along their route.

The in-car navigation system can sense traffic build up from up to 10 miles away by using Artificial Intelligence (AI) to interpret live traffic info shared between vehicles which have a special GPS installed.

The system, of course has a needlessly confuffled name- CADRE- “Congestion Avoidance Dynamic Routing Engine”. Drivers will be able to keep their stress levels down as the sat-nav will flag alternative routes to help you avoid the traffic jams where possible.
CADRE may be on the shelves in 18 months time. I am sooo going to be at the top of the queue for this gizmo and I’d imagine I’ll have plenty of company. A recent survey revealed that people in Dublin spend an average of 55 minutes commuting to work. I barely spend 25 minutes on my way to work and it’s about as much as I could take. I thought a vein in my forehead was going to pop this morning…I’m sure this gadget will add a good five years onto my life expectancy!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

